12:00 noon
Rogers Theater, Pilgrim Chapel

Join us for weekly academic presentations by DBU faculty, staff, students, and guest speakers as we participate in and contribute to the "Great Conversation" from the vantage point of the "Greatest Conversation!"

The Friday Symposium is a weekly, interdisciplinary lecture series on campus sponsored by the DBU Philosophy department. It meets for one hour just about every Friday at noon at the Rogers Theater in Pilgrim Chapel. You can bring your lunch and feed both body and mind simultaneously.

The purpose of the Friday Symposium is to stimulate meaningful conversation about topics of classic and contemporary importance, and to do so from the vantage point of Christian conviction. So, plan on attending as many Symposium sessions as you can! It is a great opportunity for the entire DBU community to participate in and contribute to the "Great Conversation!"

History of the Friday Symposium

Dr. David Naugle launched the Friday Symposium in the 1995 Spring semester. Since that time, approximately 450 papers and lectures on topics spanning the disciplines have been presented on Christ and Culture by DBU faculty, staff, students, and special guest lecturers.

Purposes of the Friday Symposium

  • To provide the Friday Symposium speakers an opportunity to model the integral connection of the Biblical worldview and the academic enterprise.
  • To deepen the intellectual culture at DBU and to foster a spirit of curiosity and inquiry on campus.
  • To provide an opportunity for the DBU community to engage in meaningful conversation about topics of classic and contemporary relevance and to promote the formation of a rigorous Christian mind on all aspects of thought and life.

Noted Guest Speakers at the Friday Symposium Over the Years

David Aikman

Makoto Fujimura Esther Meek

Vince Bacote

Steve Garber Ken Myers
Lilian Calles Barger Jenny White Green Jim Patrick
Michael Beaty Os Guinness Charlie Peacock
Kevin Belmonte Bill Hendricks Nancy Pearcey
Jim Black Thomas Hibbs Alvin Plantiga
Byron Borger Arthur Holmes Sam Ratcliff
Jay Budziszewski James Houston John Seel

Scott Cairns

Brent Hull Luci Shaw

Nigel M. De S. Cameron

David Gushee Amy Sherman

Kate Campbell

David Lyle Jeffery

Jim Sire

John "Chuck" Chalberg

Dick Keyes

Jim Skillen

Daryl Charles 

Glenn Kreider James K.A Smith

Louise Cowan

Verdell Krisher

Gideon Strauss

Bill Dembski

Mark Lanier Daniel Wallace
Tim Demy Nick Lantinga Michael Ward

John Dyer

Kenneth Lawrence Peggy Wehmeyer
Bill Edgar Michael Lindsay Chris Willerton

Sam Van Eman

Sandra Lewis D.H. Williams

C. Stephen Evans

Roger Lundin Michael Wittmer

Robert Fink    

George Marsden Ralph Wood
Jon Foreman (front-man to the
band Switchfoot visited)
Paul Marshall Robert E. Wood
Mark Foreman Daryl McCarthy Will and Crystal Yates
Bob Fu Erin McGraw