A Tolkien Reading Plan

(within the world of Middle-Earth)

For those students, who might want to pursue further reading and rereading in Tolkien, following a broad chronologically plan within his primary imaginative world:

Beginnings and First Age

Ainulindalë and Valaquenta (The Silmarillion )

The Ambarkanta (HoME vol 4)

Quenta Silmarillion (The Silmarillion )

"The Legend of the Awakening of the Quendi" (HoME vol 11 pp. 420-424)

"The Flight of the Noldoli" (The Lays of Beleriand HoME vol 3)

"Laws and Customs of the Eldar" (Morgoth's Ring HoME vol 10)

"Athrabeth Finrod ah Andreth" (Morgoth's Ring HoME vol 10)

The Lay of Leithian (The Lays of Beleriand HoME vol 3)

The Lay of the Children of Húrin (The Lays of Beleriand HoME vol 3)

The Wanderings of Hurin (The War of the Jewels HoME vol 11)

The Children of Hurin

Narn i Hîn Húrin (Unfinished Tales)

"Of Tuor and His Coming To Gondolin" (Unfinished Tales)

"The Later Annals of Bereliand" (HoME vol 5)

The Lhammas "Account of Tonques" (HoME vol 5)

Second Age

Akallabeth (The Silmarillion )

Unfinished Tales (Part II)

"Tal-Elmar" (The Peoples of Middle-earth HoME vol 12)

The Lost Road (HoME vol 5)

The Notion Club Papers (Sauron Defeated HoME vol 9)

Third Age and Beginning of the Fourth Age

"Of the Rings of Power and the Third Age" (The Silmarillion )

"The Disaster of the Gladden Fields," "Cirion and Eorl," Part IV, and "The Quest of Erebor" (Unfinished Tales)

The Hobbit

The Lord of the Rings

"The Hunt for the Ring" and "The Battle of the Fords of Isen" (Unfinished Tales )

Epilogue to The Lord of the Rings (Sauron Defeated HoME vol 9)

"The New Shadow" (The Peoples of Middle-earth  HoME vol 12)


"All manner of thing shall be well/ When the tongues of flame are in-folded/ Into the crowned knot of fire/ And the fire and the rose are one." -- T.S. Eliot, Little Gidding